.

Township 'Fortunate' to Have Honeywell as Neighbor, Committeemen Say

Scott Rosenbush and Bruce Sisler among those who voted earlier this month to allow Honeywell to use part of its 147-acre campus for townhouse development.

To the Editor:

The Morris Township Committee recently passed an ordinance that would allow Honeywell Corp. to use part of its property for townhouse development. There was an exhaustive and thoughtful public review process for this proposal at the Planning Board level, which voted unanimously to recommend mixed use on this property.

We want to share with you our thoughts about the Honeywell plan and our reasons for supporting it as members of the Morris Township Committee.
Honeywell is the largest taxpayer in Morris Township and an employer of over 1,000 people. Its economic impact on the Township and region, however, is extensive, and the number of people whose livelihoods depend upon Honeywell includes hundreds, if not thousands more.

When the Honeywell proposal was first presented it included a hotel, a senior living community and residential townhouse components. As testimony from the public and from planning, environmentaland traffic experts was considered, the hotel and senior living features of the proposal were dropped, and the remaining residential development was reduced in size to make sure that it would be a net positive for Morris Township and all of its residents. Also as a result of public input, setbacks were increased—in particular along Columbia Road.

One of the benefits of the approved Honeywell plan is the reduction of office/laboratory development that will be allowed on the site. The reduction of over 500,000 square feet of space is a significant boost to our efforts to control the intensity of development. This feature of the Honeywell plan was in direct response to those residents who expressed concern about the traffic conditions near the Honeywell site. Through the efforts of Mayor Mancuso, we have also received strong assurances from the State DOT that additional funding will be available to implement traffic management improvements in the immediate Honeywell vicinity, and preliminary engineering activity is already underway.

Another beneficial component of the ordinance is the creation of a Quiet Zone, which is expected to reduce train horn noise by two thirds! This will result in a significant improvement in the quality of life for all of eastern Morris Township once it is approved and installed.

Another benefit to the Township is an open space component that can be used for athletic fields and for a new community center. Economic benefits for the Township include over $1 million of permit fees during the development process, as well as increased ratables related to the new residential units and the new facilities to be constructed by Honeywell. A thorough economic impact analysis shows that the Honeywell development plan will provide a substantial contribution to the Township's revenue after all associated costs are accounted for.

We have been very fortunate to have Honeywell as a corporate neighbor. As we have seen in recent years, even the largest of companies are not immune to competitive pressures, and some of them have been forced to make drastic changes to ensure their survival. Lucent Technologies abandoned its facility in Hanover Township; Roche, which once employed 10,000 people in Nutley, is closing that facility; BASF vacated one million square feet of office space in Mt. Olive for a much smaller space in Florham Park; and Merck recently announced that it is leaving its global headquarters in Readington Township to consolidate its operations in Summit. All of these moves have caused painful consequences for the towns that used to be their homes. We do not want Morris Township to join this unhappy list.

We believe that the Honeywell development plan is a balanced land use solution for both the company and our community. The preservation of jobs at Honeywell and the company's expected capital investment in the property will continue to benefit Morris Township for years to come.

As members of the Morris Township Committee, we have always had a long term perspective about what is best for the Township and all of our residents. We are eager to continue our work on your behalf. your behalf. We respectfully request your support on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Scott Rosenbush
Bruce Sisler
Morris Township Committee

Martatown October 26, 2012 at 11:45 PM
I'll leave you alone now Rob. I'm starting to feel sorry for your family by making you direct additional time to fight the bad bad world we live in. Have a goodnight and spend some time with your kids.
Rob Burke October 26, 2012 at 11:48 PM
The town is not a target, Bruce. You are.
Rob Burke October 26, 2012 at 11:49 PM
My family and I are drafting the complaint against you together. It's like playing a family game. Pin the tail on the thug. Wanna read the current version? Set up an anonymous email address and I will send it to you...
Martatown October 27, 2012 at 12:16 AM
Me? Wrong guy again you idiot!!! If only you knew my name..nice family time too. Teach your kids how to right lawsuits. Maybe they will actually practice law instead of washing dirty cars!
Martatown October 27, 2012 at 12:18 AM
Sorry that's write... Must have got some car wash soap in my eye
Rob Burke October 27, 2012 at 09:24 AM
Dry your eyes, and ponder this: 1. Mills knew that a Hineywell representative raised the alleged Grayzel conflict. 2. Grayzel publicly opposed the Honeywell proposal before he was elected and spoke out against the proposal at planning board meetings and in campaign literature. 3. Mills, Honeywell, and the rest of the Town Committee knew that Jeff would not vote in favor of Honeywells proposal in order to cause his wife's defined benefit plan increase in value. Therefore, not only was Grayzel's situation one where a reasonable person could not expect his supposed interest to influence his behavior, but his ouster was executed for the opposite reason: eliminate opposition. Gee, how do you think that's gonna play in court? Another reason why Sisler can't get cleansed at Town Hall. He'll need to rely on a higher authority for absolution. Honeywell vote was really 3 to 1. And that's not good enough.
Martatown October 27, 2012 at 04:24 PM
Rob, the only reason I, a township citizen, is poking you, is I hate when people whine when they don't get there way. As you might have noticed, party politics means voting the same way as your mates. It's not always right, but that's what happens. Run for office and turn it into a (D) majority and you'll get what you want. Simple as that, get off your ass and contribute positively to your town....the one you want to run into the ground...wait for it....jackass!!
Rob Burke October 27, 2012 at 05:45 PM
Let's be serious, here. While you call me names, the facts are simple: 1. Mills, Mancuso, Sisler, Caffrey, Rosenbush & Honeywell all knew Grayzel opposed the Honeywell redevelopment as far back as November 2010. Grayzel made his position known in a Planning Board meeting back then and mde this campaign issue on which he ran and won. 2. Honeywell approached the Mills et al and requested that they kick Grayzel off the Committee by pretending that his wife's 401(k) plan would unduly influence Grayzel to support Honeywell so its stock would rise and he would make money. 3. When Sisler's real conflict was exposed, the Honeywell Conspirators suddenly had a problem because the Citizens petition hamstrung them -- they needed 4 votes and there were only three Committeemen left. 4. So they orchestrated Sisler's recusal immediately followed by the invocation of the Doctrine of Necessity, purportedly to allow all 5 folks to vote. 5. But the Doctrine should never have been invoked in the first place because Grayzel should never have been forced off. He never had a conflict. 6. Regardless, Sisler's malfeasance cannot be excused by the Doctrine of Necessity. I don't need to run for office nor should you suggest that running for office is the only way to get our government to abide by the law of the land. All I need to do is go to court.
Martatown October 27, 2012 at 06:13 PM
Yes Rob, lawsuits make the world go around...or get you 220k of tax free money. Tell me this caped crusader...if the project was shot down but there was injustice in your eyes by the (d) you would go to court?? Your so full of shit!
Martatown October 27, 2012 at 06:39 PM
Btw Rob, 2 maybe 3 people have commented besides us..doesn't seem like a lot of people give a rats ass about your personal crusade.
Rob Burke October 27, 2012 at 08:16 PM
Sounding more and more like yur phone call in the middle of the night. Cursing and name calling -- a sign of an intellectually bankrupt position. The answer to your 'question' is that corruption I government is wrong. Irrelevant the party affiliation, ethnicity, skin color or gender of the perpetrator. In this case, the wrong was choreographed by a Fortune 50 company and a bunch of republicans. But the most outrageous and dumbest move was Sisler's.
Rob Burke October 27, 2012 at 08:17 PM
My experience tells me that many people are reading these posts. My OPRA requests prove that one of those readers is Town Business Administrator Tim Quinn, who emailed Peter Manahan after I started posting about Manahan's Honeywell stock ownership.
Lee Goldberg October 27, 2012 at 09:34 PM
"Oh! what a tangled web we weave When first we practice to deceive!" -----Sir Walter Scott
Martatown October 27, 2012 at 10:43 PM
Yes rob, but tell my on a personal level why you are so bent on righting this wrong. I don't want to hear about what others did I want to know how you feel personally. How does this effect you on a personal level? Too close to your house, your quality of life, the other team. You never answer my questions anyway. Why isn't Lee jumping on this since he got the phone call?? My point is why are you so involved?? Can't you come out and just say you are supporting the dems? it can't be all about righting wrongs. You're hiding something behind that. And you're wasting your neighbors tax money.
Debi Goldberg October 27, 2012 at 11:37 PM
Actually Lee and I have both filed an ethics complaint with the town which has virtually been IGNORED!!! People are reading these posts and are discussing them. It was discussed in depth at a book club social meeting and I have been stopped numerous times out in the community. People are disgusted with the behavior of the town council and feel helpless. People are OUTRAGED at Sisler's behavior. I have heard numerous comments about this town being corrupt and incestuous and that people would have reconsidered moving here if they new by what ridiculous standards the town was run. Unfortunately, most of the town is uneducated in the FACTS and will vote their beloved party.
Rob Burke October 28, 2012 at 12:45 AM
Tell ya what. I will answer any question you ask just as soon as you sign your name to your post. Til then, sorry, I don't negotiate with terrorists. No exceptions for Sisler's, Honeywell stooges, etc. What I want to know is how did Carnivalmaster Mancuso get instantaneously smart about the Doctrine of Necessity one minute after Sisler recused himself? Answer: he didn't. He read a prepared statement and even cited case law! Conclusion: Mills and friends purposefully choreographed Sisler's recusal with the intention of doing an end run around ethics committee review of his midnight harassment. Fatal Error: there was never any on the record disclosure of Sisler's despicable behavior and, accordingly, the Town Committee could not have invoked the Doctrine of Necessity to absolve him from these serious transgressions. Result: Sisler's vote is void, and since Grayzel was cleansed by full disclosure prior to the Doctrine of Necessity vote, the Honeywell ordinance failed. And when this finally winds its way through court, I bet Assemblyman Bucco terminates Sisler's employment. Its what I would expect from a State Assemblyman. Tax dollars should not be spent to employ a thug.
Rob Burke October 28, 2012 at 12:49 AM
PS - I can't wait for Carnivalmaster Mancuso to publish an endorsement on Patch. Another venue to post the truth about this Town. I know Sisler's phone calls would have kept me up at night. Maybe he will think before he dials now that he's been exposed, and is about to be sued. If anyone out there endorses this behavior, I invite them to post here and explain why. I also invite Sisler to post under his real name and explain. I also invite Tom Luby to do the same. And John Mills III. That's right. You all can close ranks behind the scenes, but I am calling you out. Please sign your name and tell us why Sisler shouldn't be thrown out of office right now, permanently.
Martatown October 28, 2012 at 01:10 AM
Like I told rob before, there is no such animal as an ethical politician. They're all self serving. Period. When I moved here I looked at a lot of towns with comparable amenities, but guess what, they all had higher tax rates. Name me that town with comparable amenities and lower taxes?? If you dig into any town it's the same cast of characters and politics. Nobody is handing me any entitlements to pay higher taxes. You? I won't the most for my hard earned money. The time I move from this town is when a bunch of knuckleheads start making my taxes go up and so far that's not been the case. You guys are living in la-la land if you think there are any ethical politicians left... Those days are long gone...if they were ever here.
Rob Burke October 28, 2012 at 01:22 AM
Sign your name and explain why Sisler shouldn't be kicked to the curb. Hey, I'll go one better. Don't sign your name and tell us why we shouldn't put Sisler out with the trash. Telling us that politicians are all bad people isn't much of an argument.
Martatown October 28, 2012 at 01:53 AM
I told you rob, I'm in it for me. Just like you. Except I don't try to supplement my income with lawsuits. Why? Because the current council and the town in general has been doing a pretty good Job of keeping my taxes low. It's about me Rob, you should understand that. If Honeywell was in my backyard too, I might be just like you guys. I'm sure you're future property value concerns do not play into this either right? Ethics? Have looked at our highest levels in government?
Martatown October 28, 2012 at 01:57 AM
And miss Goldberg, I voted for Jeff two times...it's not always about a beloved party.
Rob Burke October 28, 2012 at 02:00 AM
So you still can't figure any way at all to defend Sisler's behavior. And you still remain hidden under a rock like a bug. And sisler won't defend himself. Rosenbush won't defend him. Caffrey won't defend him. Luby wont defend him. Gravis won't defend him. His sister won't defend him. Mills won't defend him. Amelio won't defend him. Bucco won't defend him. The other Bucco won't defend him. Honeywell won't defend him. Even the Ringmaster Mancuso won't defend him. Ringing endorsements. Inspiring.
Martatown October 28, 2012 at 02:01 AM
Rob, remember when you used to say "I'm taking my ball and I'm going home?" it kind of sounds the same except now you can file lawsuits too.
Martatown October 28, 2012 at 02:04 AM
You didn't win and now you're mad..I understand completely Rob.
Rob Burke October 28, 2012 at 02:05 AM
Nope, never said that. I don't go away. That's why there are more than 100 posts in this thread. The only way that the truth loses in this fight is if I decide to stop fighting. Guess what? This dialogue has hardened my resolve. I'm not going to take the ball and go home. I'm gonna take the ball, drive the lane right to the hoop, and right the wrong that we are now saddled with. You don't like it? Then go ahead and do something about it. Calling me names isn't gonna dissuade more or garner support for your wacky attitudes.
Martatown October 28, 2012 at 02:20 AM
I'm not defending him or his politics. I just don't like people that hide behind lawsuits for their own personal agenda. And that's you Rob. And you can even turn into a personal payday of taxpayers money if you play your cards right.
Rob Burke October 28, 2012 at 02:40 AM
No, you hide behind a screen name. Here. Reeat after me: Sisler should resign. Feel better now?
Debi Goldberg October 28, 2012 at 02:48 AM
That is MRS. GOLDBERG!! If your low tax dollars paid a town councilman who woke you up twice in the middle of the night when your child was traveling you may not have the same view point. Yes, I back up to Honeywell. No, I never said that it shouldn't be redeveloped in some way. YES, I THINK THAT THE PROCESS SHOULD HAVE BEEN FOLLOWED LEGALLY! It is not always about a beloved party... but it should be about ethics and legalities...NO EXCUSES!!
Lee Goldberg October 28, 2012 at 04:23 AM
Just noticed it is the time of the second call.........wait for it..........BIIG ERROR IN JUDGEMENT!!!
Rob Burke October 28, 2012 at 10:23 AM
That's too funny! Tragic though, that no one is defending Sisler or explaining why the sanctity of the public trust doesn't demand his permanent ouster. Not Rosenbush, not any family member of Sisler, not Mancuso, not Caffrey, not Bucco Sr., not Honeywell, not Bucco Jr. No one. Not even Sisler himself.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something